They have no idea…

Posted on Updated on

They have no idea…

I was one of the many many’s to watch the latest Star Wars trailer last night during half-time of the Monday Night Football game.  And I weathered the annoying duo of  overrated Mike Tirico and the even more overrated Jon Gruden I might add to do so.  Thankfully the slings and arrows I endured were worth it for the trailer…well it left me and my wife in tears.  Nostalgic.  Inspiring.  A promise of a taste of home cooking!  I was just absolutely enraptured by the sights and sounds.  If the film is even a tenth of quality of the 2+ min trailer then I have to say it will be a difficult film to beat in my eyes as movie of the year.  I simply can’t wait to see if this holds true!

Today I showed my students the trailer during a break in the festivities of learning what needed to be known on the upcoming state test (never mind learning anything useful).  Most had not yet seen the trailer.  And most had only the more recent (m&*#^$FU^%#&g) prequels as a reference point.  Few, a sad, sad few, had ever seen the originals.  Now talk about what is wrong with America!  Throw aside all the criminals that are running for or currently holding office…we need everyone to sit down and watch the originals…oh and then burn the prequels afterwards!

Trailer Episode VII
Trailer Episode VII

After viewing the most recent trailer with my class I then went on to field questions.  One of the questions was regarding the Disney purchase of the brand (a few of my kids pay attention to the news even if just the celebrity and entertainment sections).  I shared that the good thing about the evil empire (Disney) is that they have A LOT OF MONEY.  Mountains of it in fact and like American politicians they are willing to throw tons of it at an issue hoping for a solution.  The solution for Disney with the faltering Star Wars franchise it to make more movies…and more…and more.  I told the kids that they have no idea what is ahead of them.  I then briefed them on just what was in store.  For at least the next 6-years they will have a Christmas or summer Star Wars movie to attend.  Three movies in the series and three films in the anthologies (monsters of the week – so popular in an established series because it focuses on one smaller story normally alluded to in the greater canon and context in the series whole).  They were stunned.  “We get to see something like this…every year for the next six years!?”

Yes.

Originally I was concerned that director J.J. Abrams would bring along his friend from the Lost series Damon Lindelof (ruiner of Prometheus – shame!!!) but when I found Lindelof was not attached to SW oh boy was I excited.  I can only hope I and my student are subjected to what Star Wars could be and not what it has been over the past decade.  I can only hope…you listening Obi –Wan Kenobi?!  You’re my only hope!

P.S.  This movie better begin with the Millennium Falcon flying overhead!!!

http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi3343889177

7 thoughts on “They have no idea…

    mlbradford said:
    October 20, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    1st movie to crash thro th 2 billion dollar barrier – most likely!
    Never seen th original trilogy?! That’s what I call a deprived childhood.
    W tickets going on sale NOW, will w b able to secure seats before th New Yr?
    Excited yet anxious
    Cheers!

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      October 21, 2015 at 5:56 pm

      That 2 billion mark should be considered with a grain of salt though. I remember paying under $3 for a movie ticket in the 80s. Now…if you go to a regular showing and not one of those Imax 3-D extravaganzas you still need to take out a small loan. It’s cheaper to invest in a nice home theater system, blurays (because streaming is not nearly as good) and beer. Not many theaters serve beer!

        mlbradford said:
        October 21, 2015 at 6:29 pm

        Yes, bt th demand WILL b considerable.
        As for th nice home theater system, it’s working just fine thank u!
        Enjoy th beer!
        Cheers!

    akb_TheProjectionBooth said:
    October 21, 2015 at 9:06 am

    Last night I bought tickets to the first showing in my town. I’m so freaking excited.

    noelleg44 said:
    October 21, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    I remember being blown away by the very first SW – watched it probably five times. I’ve already bought tickets for this one and hope to be equally awed/ We’re seeing it in IMAX.

    Player 1 said:
    November 2, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    Hey J.W.,

    Thanks for liking my post! My blog is explicitly about video games, but I’m a pretty big fan of science fiction myself. I’ll definitely be checking into your blog to see more of your observations!

    I’m excited about the new film, but I’m also a bit leery of Abrams taking the lead, and even more leery of Disney in general. I hope they don’t ruin the magic. I feel that as an educator it’s your job to educate those students! Only knowing the prequel films is like only knowing Kodak as a printer manufacturer. Hopefully there’s some way you can incorporate one of the original films into a lesson plan. Until then, we must put our hope in Obi-Wan Kenobi.

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      November 2, 2015 at 6:58 pm

      One of my students just left to visit Disneyland. I told her I needed her to bring me three things back. First, I want some real pixie dust so I can fly. None of the knockoff stuff; only real dust will do. Second, I want some Mickey Mouse ears…not those weak fake ears on a cap jobs. I want actual ears from the mouse himself. Third, I told her to tell Walt, if she ran into him, not to screw up Star Wars and to keep an eye on JJ so he doesn’t make it into what Lost became at the end. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

