Review: The Awakening – Period Piece Ghost Film That’s Better Than Most

Posted on Updated on

J. W. Kurtz

Film Review:  The Awakening (2011)

My Rating:  5 craft beers on a 6-pack scale.

Genre:  Horror/Thriller

Rating:  R

Runtime:  107 mins

Directed by:  Nick Murphy

Writers:  Stephen Volk, Nick Murphy

Stars:  Rebecca Hall, Dominic West, Imelda Staunton

Note:  English language film, a UK production.

So I write this a day after watching The Awakening.  Looking at the film a day later I almost wonder at my initial high rating.  Perhaps too high in fact.  When compared to the IMDP and Metascore ratings I see I’m indeed a little elevated.  Perhaps my 5 craft beer score has more to do with the fact that I was on my 5th beer by the end of the movie and again I’m on my 5th brew as I write this now.  Perhaps.  I’m sticking with the rating however so here we go.

IMDB The Awakening

IMDB The Awakening

There will be no spoilers so don’t…

View original post 524 more words

2 thoughts on “Review: The Awakening – Period Piece Ghost Film That’s Better Than Most

    Dennis the Vizsla said:
    May 23, 2015 at 12:23 pm

    hello jw kurtz its dennis the vizsla dog hay mama and dada just watchd this the other day and they thawt it wuz pritty gud altho i think mama konsiderd it a littel bit of a mind skroo wotever that meens!!! ok bye

Leave a Reply

