Star Wars trailer review: Scratching my head a bit, I am.

Posted on Updated on

Okay…so I get up this Black Friday morning thinking that I may browse some of the deals online before I get to work on my daily writing goal.  Maybe while “window” shopping I’ll come across an interesting writing prompt to get me warmed up.  I come across the new Star Wars trailer so of course I watch it a time-or-ten.

My reaction? ( Note: it is vitally important to remember that my personal reaction weighs oh so heavily on the Internet and its ultimate well-being).

My reaction is “huh…”  So it appears JJ Abrams is doing what I expected him to.  He’s turned Star Wars into a grittier world much like another movie franchise…now what was that one called again?  Oh, yeah, Star Trek!  Now just throw in a couple of redshirts (color the white stormtroopers red maybe), warp drive, phasers, and teleporters now because they would not be entirely out of place after seeing and hearing the trailer.  Even the voiceover guy, talking about the “awakening force” and whatnot, sounds very much like it could have been recorded for a Star Trek movie trailer.

We did get to see the Millennium Falcon so that was pretty cool.  What was completely missing was any other recognizable character – unless of course you consider tie fighters, storm troopers, and x-wings characters, which I suppose they kinda are.  Where is Luke, Leia, Han, all the hyped up returning folks?  Where is the wookiee roar! For goodness sake?  Where are the stars of Star Wars!?  Where are the stars for that matter?  Everything takes place over sand dunes, a dark forest (I have to admit the bad guys red light saber looks cool – it has to be difficult to imagine a usable bad guy sword for every new Star Wars movie I suppose), and there are even x-wings screaming over what appears to be a lake.  Nothing in space.  Nothing.

So after viewing the trailer I am neither turned on or turned off (okay…maybe there was a little hair standing up on my arms when the Falcon zipped by – been missing her for more than 30-years!) for the upcoming mega-blockbuster-cashcow-in-waiting.  I left more scratching my head trying to swallow the pill that this is Star Trek with the force and guys sweating like crazy under their stormtrooper armor.  Just not entirely thrilled with the initial feel (love it for Star Trek but it has been done!) and not super excited about the look at all.  Even the stormtrooper blasters look wrong.  And what the heck is with the beach ball droid??!!  I hope that droid isn’t a major player because I have a feeling he could be a mechanical Jar-Jar or something.

star_wars_7_movie_poster

Yes, Disney, I’ll pay to watch it…I’ll pay for the Blu-ray to follow most likely.  But I’m not going to say right now that it looks like I’m going to like it.

Just be prepared for the inevitable Star Trek crossover in the future everyone.  Seriously.

Cheers!

J.W.

To Amazon.com! KindleUnlimited friendly!
To Amazon.com! KindleUnlimited friendly!
8 thoughts on “Star Wars trailer review: Scratching my head a bit, I am.

    sjhigbee said:
    November 28, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    I’m waiting for the Star Trek Wars any day soon…

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      November 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      As prophesied in Futurama. Yes!

    migarium said:
    November 29, 2014 at 12:30 am

    The new generation lightsaber which the sith lord holds in hand seems like a claymore. I don’t like it so much at first look. It reminded me Diablo games:) Besides, the millenium falcon shows itself in the trailer, maybe this is a hint, I don’t know. We wait and will see; by the way, may the force be with you:)

    Dennis the Vizsla said:
    December 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    I think I like the poster of the broken Star Destroyer better than the trailer!

    mramgemini6 said:
    December 28, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    Hey, J.W. I also watched this trailer many times as soon as it was on youtube. Yes, I was hoping to see Leia and Han and Luke; but keep in mind, the movie won’t premiere for another year. It is wise for any filmmaker to not show too much, especially when the finished movie is so far away.

    Abrams will no doubt release more footage over the course of the year. With his track record, he’ll probably score another homerun with “Star Wars VII.”

    By the way, did you notice the Millennium Falcon has a new radar to replace the dish that was destroyed in episode VI?

    — M

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      December 28, 2014 at 8:24 pm

      M –
      New radar and something new to the engines I think. The Falcon definitely is not low-mileage so no surprise that she continues to be an ever evolving slapdash duct tape job. The Falcon is like a VW bus with blaster turrets (which would look pretty cool on a VW bus now that I think of it).

      Yes I expect as the year goes by there will be special events where we see some of the recognizable folks like Han, Leia, and Luke etc. It will no doubt be tied to some heavy marketing scheme for certain shows like The Waling Dead and other highly watched ($$$) shows.

      In regards to Abrams, I am concerned about that track record. Star Trek was outstanding (A). Star Trek Into Darkness was pretty good (B). And Super 8 was just fair to middling (C+/B-). With the pressure he faces with this franchise and the Empire breathing down his neck (Disney) I hope he pulls it off.

      Thanks for your comment.
      Cheers!
      JW

    That Moment In said:
    December 29, 2014 at 7:31 am

    In total agreement. Meh. I was actually angry when I heard that Abrams was handling this and Disney had the rights. I’m a huge fan of the originals and hate to say it but maybe it’s time to move on. Hopefully there is a surprise for us when it’s released.

Leave a Reply

