New Cover Art! Thanks Portland area artist Kevin Reynolds. PLUS other updates.

Posted on

Good morning Sci-Fi fans.  I’m very happy to display here, for the first time, the new cover art for my first released book The Bellerophon: Ambush.  The original art was done with the cover art maker software on Amazon.com and it worked for me.  For a time at least.  Then I started to see others with nearly the same cover…so it was obvious that I needed something different.

From time-to-time over the years I’ve chatted with the talented Portland area artist Kevin Reynolds, a friend, brother really, for nearly 30-years (I cried at his wedding which means nothing as I cry at all weddings).  We’ve talked about graphic novel work because I love to write, he loves to draw, and we both love to create.  So here is the cover he came up with.  I think it very well evokes the minimalist environment that is the arena for much of this series: deep space.  I immediately thought of one of the original covers of the Greg Bear book Eon and one of the original covers for Rendezvous with Rama, one of my favorite books by perhaps my favorite author, Arthur C. Clarke.

To Amazon.com!  KindleUnlimited friendly!
To Amazon.com! KindleUnlimited friendly!

I look forward to again work with Kevin Reynolds in the near future on more creative projects.  Hopefully he can find time to fit me into his busy schedule of being a husband, father, co-owner operator of the Via Chicago restaurant (ttp://www.viachicagopizza.com) on Alberta Street in Portland, OR, (stop by and have a slice!) oh and he’s a Senior Art Director for Leopold Ketel & Partners (http://www.leoketel.com) in…you guessed it, that same Rose City.  I need a nap after writing all that.  Again, he’s quite the busy guy!

And an update on how things are going on Amazon.com…

For an Indie-writer I’m as happy as a clam with these numbers.  Never thought I’d write “happy as a clam.”  Ever.  Thanks to all you readers out there.  Now to get some work done.  Also, stay tuned for some movie reviews.  I’ve watched some off-the-beaten path films lately that I thinks folks will enjoy.

Have a great weekend and as always…

Cheers!

JW

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Cover Art! Thanks Portland area artist Kevin Reynolds. PLUS other updates.

    100000lightyears said:
    October 24, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Nice. My copy of Eon is the one with the Earth and the Stone/Potato with Eon in gold lettering, but I just googled to see some of the other covers and I see what you mean regarding the simplicity of design. Have to say I like your cover more though.

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      October 24, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      Thanks!

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      October 24, 2014 at 12:31 pm

      I had to laugh at the idea of the “space potato.” As I recall in the book it is even described as such. Now I have in my head the “pigs-in-space” from the Muppet’s but instead it is “potatoes-in-space!!!!”

Leave a Reply

