Star Wars Episode VII Guessifications (UPDATED)

Posted on Updated on

UPDATED CONTENT AT BOTTOM OF POST

As I was walking my wookie this morning (my dog Jack who we call “wookie”) I was thinking about the upcoming Episode VII of the Star Wars franchise.  I think about Star Wars often.  I even watched the best of the first 6 (I have to include the terrible terrible terrible prequels in the 6 I guess) as recently as last night; The Empire Strikes Back.  Even the sometimes glaring silliness of that movie such as Fett and Slave I not being spotted in the rear view mirror by Han, who is an experienced smuggler who is always on the lookout for “the man,” as he jetted away from the dumped trash after the star destroyer departed.  There are several others but that isn’t what this post is about.

And getting to it…

star_wars_7_movie_poster

My first guessification (aka prediction) is that because the Star Wars movies always start with a starship shot, of the craft arriving somewhere – Abrams better not mess with this tradition!!! – the first thing we will all see in Episode VII is…the Millennium Falcon.  I believe that seeing the Falcon, for the first time in more than 30-years!!!!, folks will stand and cheer (with me among them despite not being a “cheery” kinda guy).  This will go a long way towards setting the tone for the new series.  A tone that was last set by leaving the audience with mouths agape at the end of Episode I when folks were trying to come to terms with such a terrible terrible terrible opening for what would be one of the worst trilogies of all time.

Stay tuned for more guessifications as the inspiration strikes.

UPDATED:  So I predicted (guessified) that Episode VII – The Force Awakens (kinda a silly name?? maybe??) will start with a ship traveling/arriving.  Now, more specifically I would like to speculate just what that ship is.  What was missing in the prequels?  Well, an awful lot as we all know, but what I noticed as missing from the theaters was excitement and cheering.  Of coruse there was cheering for those folks that bought tickets months in advance or stood in line all day to get to a midnight showing.  That sort of excitement is expected for such a franchise and its loving followers.  Some of those that saw the prequels the first day probably thought Jar-jar was “fun”…to avoid a tangent I’ll get to the point.  Finally.  That ship we’ll see zooming from an underneath shot will be…the Millennium Falcon of course!  What better craft to bring everyone to their feet in excitement?  There’s your update.

Cheers!

JW

 

9 thoughts on “Star Wars Episode VII Guessifications (UPDATED)

    Kate Rauner said:
    October 12, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    I’m looking forward to the new installment, too – but I can’t decide if using the characters from the first 6 episodes is a good idea or not.

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      October 12, 2014 at 1:57 pm

      I think they’re using them as a bridge to some new original characters/ideas for the series. I like JJ Abrams as the director BUT I hope he doesn’t use some of the writers from Lost, the ones that killed that series so that it just dragged on and on etc. Really hope Lindelof, the guy that ruined Prometheus, stays away.

        Kate Rauner said:
        October 12, 2014 at 2:14 pm

        Sequels are hard – the wonder and surprise of discovering the Star Wars universe is no longer there. But if they drift too far away, trying for new things, then it’s not really Star Wars. I don’t think I would like a lot of Han Solo as a responsible father and role model.

        J.W. Kurtz responded:
        October 12, 2014 at 2:17 pm

        No joke. I agree completely.
        I read the 26ish books of the New Jedi Order (it was a slooooow summer) awhile back and I didn’t like the responsible dad Han Solo. He needs to be the rapscallion-like rogue we all love.

        Kate Rauner said:
        October 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

        I’ve only read a couple novels from the expanded universe – mostly they were okay, but not great – nothing that encouraged me to seek out more of them. The one I liked best had no Jedi at all and a Sith lord as the protagonist in an all-Sith sort of tale – I forget the title. But it probably doesn’t matter what the books are like or what the reviews say – I’ll see the new movie.

    boxofficebuzzab said:
    October 21, 2014 at 10:53 am

    I’m nervous but excited about the new Star Wars movie, and I don’t think J.J. Abrams will disappoint us. I’m curious to see what the plot will be and I hope Abrams will be able to return to the spirit of the original trilogy.

    stevenpolanco said:
    October 26, 2014 at 11:12 pm

    I am so excited for the new movies. Even though I grew up with the prequels I still like them since its my childhood, but I can definitely see why they are a pile. I loved what J.J. did with Star Trek so I’m hoping he won’t disappoint with Star Wars. Thanks for the follow too it means a lot!

      J.W. Kurtz responded:
      October 27, 2014 at 7:20 am

      Star trek was/is a winner. I watch it monthly. I was a HUGE skeptic about that reboot then…love it it to death now.even the under achieving sequel was still pretty good. I blame the lameness of Peter Weller for much of it though. Oh, and Benedict Cumberbatch not at all being evil. More like just creepy weird. We’ll see what JJ does with disney’s Star Wars now.

    Sean Smith said:
    November 13, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I get the feeling I will cheer like a little school child. This is one movie that I will definitely be going to the midnight premier. I really have a lot of faith in JJ.

Leave a Reply

